January 9, 1807, Elizabethtown, New Jersey.

September 23, 1883, Summit, New Jersey.

New York Marble Cemetery, New York City.

Hatfield was educated at Middlebury College, Vermont, and at Andover. From 1832 to 1835 he was pastor of the Second Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Missouri. In 1835, he moved to New York, where he served as pastor of the Seventh Presbyterian Church, then at the North Presbyterian Church (1856–63) there. In 1864 he was appointed special agent to the Union Theological Seminary, New York. He also held, from 1846, the position of Stated Clerk of the Presbyterian General Assembly. His works include:

  1. Behold How Good and Sweet
  2. Come, Bless Jehovah’s Name
  3. Come, Let Us Gladly Sing
  4. Friends of Freedom, Swell the Song
  5. Great God of Earth and Heaven
  6. Hallelujah, Praise the Lord
  7. How Perfect Is Thy Law
  8. How Sweetly Breaks the Sabbath Dawn
  9. Jehovah! We Bless Thee
  10. Jehovah, We Magnify Thee
  11. Jesus, My Sweetest One Thou Art
  12. Lo, Jesus the Savior in Mercy Draws Near
  13. Lord, Our God, We Magnify, The
  14. My Shepherd’s Name Is Love
  15. O Sing Hallelujah, Praise Ye the Lord
  16. Sing, All Ye Lands
  17. Thee, Father, Spirit, Son
  18. Thee, Thee, We Praise, O God, and Now
  19. Thy Glory, O Lord! We Joyfully Sing
  20. Thy Name, O God! We Bless
  21. ’Tis Thine Alone, Almighty Name
  22. To Father, Spirit, Son
  23. To God the Father, and the Son, and Holy Spirit
  24. To Thee, O God! Our Songs We Raise
  25. Why, O God, Thy People Spurn?
  26. O God, the Father, Son