October 24, 1820, Halfmoon Street, Piccadilly, Westminster, London, England.

June 12, 1885, Paris, France.

Abney Park Cemetery, London, England.


Self-educated, Hood became in 1852 the Independent Minister at Nibley, Gloucestershire. He stayed there until 1857, when he moved to Offord Road, London. He held several pastorates, including Brighton & Manchester, the last being Falcon Square, London. He edited (and was the chief contributor to) The Eclectic Review for eight years, and The Preacher’s Lantern for two years. His works include:

  1. Angel of God, Thy Wings Expanded
  2. Bride of the Lamb, Sweet Spices Bring
  3. Earth in Beauty Smiles Again
  4. God, Who Hath Made the Daisies
  5. Heart-Broken and Weary, Where’er Thou May’st Be
  6. I Hear a Sweet Voice Ringing Clear
  7. I Love to Think, Though I Am Young
  8. Jesus Lives, and Jesus Leads
  9. O Jesus, Savior, We Are Young
  10. Oh, Walk with Jesus
  11. Rest Remaineth, O How Sweet
  12. Savior and Master, These Sayings of Thine
  13. Sing a Hymn to Jesus
  14. Sweet Hallelujahs
  15. Teach Me, O Lord, Where’er I Move
  16. There Is a Word I Fain Would Speak
  17. There’s a Beautiful Land Where the Rains Never Beat
  18. Unless the Lord the City Keep
  19. We Love the Good Old Bible