April 3, 1836, Maury County, Tennessee.

July 2, 1899, Atlanta, Georgia.

Oxford Cemetery, Oxford, Georgia.

Emilius Laroche.

McIntosh attended Jackson College in Columbia, Tennessee, and studied music under Asa Everett. In 1875, he was appointed head of the Music Department at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. In 1877, he joined the faculty of Emory College, Oxford, Georgia. In 1895, he left Emory College to devote his time to the R. M. McIntosh Publishing Company. He also served as music editor of the Methodist Episcopal Church South Publishing House for over 30 years. His works include:

  1. At the Beautiful Gate
  2. Beautiful Christmas
  3. For Many, Many Years
  4. Gathering Home
  5. Home of the Blest, The
  6. I Will Uphold Thee
  7. Kingdom Is Coming, The
  8. Los Cerritos
  9. McAnally
  10. Not Far from the Kingdom
  11. On Jordan’s Stormy Banks I Stand
  12. Once o’er Judea’s Hills by Night
  13. Story of the Cross
  14. Sweet Prayer
  15. Tell It Again
  16. Ten Virgins, The
  17. Wise Virgins, The